The Rheumatology Team



Rheumatology is a specialty that involves the non-surgical evaluation and treatment of rheumatic diseases and conditions. Rheumatic diseases and conditions are characterized by symptoms involving the musculoskeletal system (joints, muscles, connective tissues and bones). Many of the rheumatic diseases and conditions affect the immune system so rheumatology also involves the study of the immune system.



The Rheumatology team

The Rheumatology department is based at Truro Health Park (THP), but holds clinics at many of the local hospitals such as West Cornwall hospital (Penzance), Bodmin Hospital, Newquay Hospital, Falmouth Hospital, Camborne and Redruth Hospital and St Austell Hospital (Penrice).

The team at THP includes 4 Rheumatology consultants, 4 specialist nurses, a specialist pharmacist, a specialist registrar and junior doctor.  A healthcare assistant helps run the clinics, and undertakes roles such as blood pressure monitoring, urine testing and taking blood.  There are administrative staff who are vital at supporting the clinical work and the smooth running of the department.  There are also specialist occupation therapists, physiotherapists, and an osteoporosis radiographer who work closely with the rheumatology team, but are based at Royal Cornwall Hospital main site.

All of the consultants and specialist nurses are qualified and experienced in the diagnosis and treatment of arthritis and other diseases of the joints, muscles and bones.  Rheumatic diseases can be complex, chronic disorders and therefore long-term follow up may be necessary. These diseases often change or evolve over time and changes to the treatment plans are common. Rheumatologists and specialist nurses work closely with patients to create plans that are acceptable to both parties.

Rheumatology Consultants

Dr Timothy Jenkinson

Dr David Hutchinson

Dr Alison Endean

Dr Mark Hughes

Secretaries to the consultants – Mrs Helen Pearce, Mrs Georgina Gordan

Rheumatology Clinical Nurse Specialists

Mrs Hayley Austin

Mrs Heidi Clode

Miss Liz Fernie

Mrs Karen Power

Specialist Pharmacist

Mr Andrew Pothecary

Targeted therapy co-ordinators – Miss Dawn Clark, Ms Nicola Davis

Clinic Healthcare

Mr Murray Cotton


Mrs Haley Moore

Our specialist registrar and junior doctor rotate through the department on a regular basis


Will You Help Us?We would love to hear your thoughts on our website.

We would love to hear your answers to two quick questions. If you have time, please click the button below to complete our feedback form. It's anonymous and should take less than a minute.